Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
  • Home
  • All News
  • All India Women’s Badminton Tournament begins at VIT

All India Women’s Badminton Tournament begins at VIT

The annual All India Women’s Badminton Tournament began at Vellore Institute of Technology – VIT on Wednesday, December 11.The South Zone Inter-University Women’s Badminton tournament, that began on December 3, concluded on Tuesday, December 10. In this Tournament, women Badminton players from 82 Universities from Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Telengana, Kerala and Puducherry in

addition to the host State Tamil Nadu took part. The top four teams – Jain University, Kozhikode, Kozhikode University, Andhra University and SRM University were selected to take part in the All India Women’s Badminton Tournament that began on Wednesday, December 11.Similarly, the other teams that competed from the three other zones – East, West and North included: Veer Bahadur Singh Purvanchal University, Jaunpur, Ranchi University, Guwahati University and Dibrugarh University, Assam – East; Mumbai University, Savitri Bhai Phule University, Pune, Devi Ahalyabai University, Indore and Maharashtra Univerity Nashik – West; Delhi University, Punjab University, Chandigarh, Punjabi University, Patiala and M.D.University, Rohtak, Haryana – North. The All India tournament will be held till December 13.

N.V.Thyagachandran, Physical Director, VIT, welcomed the participating athletes and guests at the inaugural function held on Wednesday morning. S.Narayanan, Pro Vice Chancellor and students took part in large numbers. Thanviji Parikh, Student Secretary of Physical Education Department, delivered a vote of thanks.