Anti Ragging Committee

VIT gives immense emphasis on maintaining a ragging free campus. Anti-Ragging Committee is constituted with Director, Students’ Welfare as Chairperson; Assistant Directors, Students’ Welfare as Members and nominated Faculty members from each school as Coordinators. Along with the Coordinators from each school, there is a team of squad members that comprises of faculty as well as staff members.

If any student has any grievance in the nature of ragging, including any kind of harassment, the same can be brought to the notice of the Chairperson or any of the Committee Members from various schools, for necessary action and redressal.


Prof. Naiju CD
Director, Students’ Welfare

Assistant Directors Students’ Welfare

Prof. Sudhakar N.
Prof. Sujatha R.
Prof. Sankar Ganesh S.
Prof. Sharmila N.
Prof. Aarthy S. L.
Prof. Senthil Kumar M.


Prof. Anburaj G.
Assistant Professor, SSL

Prof. Velu  S.
Associate Professor Sr., SCHEME

Prof. Ashok D.
Professor HAG, VITBS

Prof. Hareesh Haridasan
Assistant Professor, VSPARC

Prof. Rajasekaran C.
Professor, SBST

Prof. Dillip Kumar Barik
Associate Professor Sr., SCE

Prof. Ramani S.
Assistant Professor Sr., SCOPE

Prof. Raja Singh R.
Associate Professor, SELECT

Prof. Yogesh Kumar Choukiker
Associate Professor, SENSE

Prof. Iyapparaja M.
Associate Professor, SITE

Prof. Arabi Mohammed Saleh
Assistant Professor, VAIAL

Prof. Padmanathan P.
Assistant Professor Sr.,  SMEC

Prof. Kiran G.
Assistant Professor,  VSIGN

Prof. Jagadeesh Kumar M. S.
Associate Professor Sr., SAS

Prof. Jesu Fredrick T.
Assistant Professor Jr., HOT

The contact telephone nos. and email ID are given below:
Chairperson Email:
University Hotline: Tel. No. 0416-2205005

* What constitutes Ragging?

Ragging constitutes one or more of any of the following acts:

a) Any conduct by any student or students whether by words spoken or written or by an act which has the effect of teasing, treating or handling with rudeness a fresher or any other student.
b) Indulging in rowdy or in disciplined activities by any student or students which causes or is likely to cause annoyance, hardship, physical or psychological harm or to raise fear or apprehension thereof in any fresher or any other student.
c) Asking any student to do any act which such student will not in the ordinary course do and which has the effect of causing or generating a sense of shame, or torment or embarrassment so as to adversely affect the physique or psyche of such fresher or any other student.
d) Any act by a senior student that prevents, disrupts or disturbs the regular academic activity of any other student or a fresher.
e) Exploiting the services of a fresher or any other student for completing the academic tasks assigned to an individual or a group of students.
f) Any act of financial extortion or forceful expenditure burden put on a fresher or any other student by students.
g) Any act of physical abuse including all variants of it: sexual abuse, homosexual assaults, stripping, forcing obscene and lewd acts, gestures, causing bodily harm or any other danger to health or person.
h) Any act or abuse by spoken words, emails, post, public insults which would also include deriving perverted pleasure, vicarious or sadistic thrill from actively or passively participating in the discomfiture to fresher or any other student.
i) Any act that affects the mental health and self-confidence of a fresher or any other student with or without an intent to derive a sadistic pleasure or showing off power, authority or superiority by a student over any fresher.
j) Any act of physical or mental abuse (including bullying and exclusion) targeted at another student (fresher or otherwise) on the ground of color, race, religion, caste, ethnicity, gender (including transgender), sexual orientation, appearance, nationality, regional origins, linguistic identity, place of birth, place of residence or economic background.

Click here to view Anti Ragging Committee members