Dean's Message

The School of Mechanical Engineering is amongst the premier schools of VIT...

View More

School of Mechanical Engineering(SMEC)

The School of Mechanical Engineering is amongst the premier schools of VIT started functioning right from 1984. The school has got a team of highly qualified faculty members, many holding PhDs from the elite institutes across the globe, to teach and train the best minds of this country. The pride of the school lies in the significant research funding received from several Government agencies such as DST, DRDO, MNRE, CSIR, CVRDE, CPDO, IE, AR&DB, CVRDE, BRNS, ISRO, UGC, NRB, AICTE etc., Memoranda of Understanding (MoUs) with various Industry Research Organisations...

View More

Programmes Offered



Apart from a generic Undergraduate programme in Mechanical Engineering, the School offers specialized UG programmes in all core areas of Mechanical Engineering.

Read More



At the Masters level, the school offers programmes in CAD/CAM, Manufacturing, Mechatronics and Automotive Specializations.

Read More



The school has active research groups in almost all areas of Mechanical Engineering including Composite Materials, Welding, Metal Cutting, Surface Engineering.



Funded Projects And Consultancy

The school is the recipient of two FIST projects of DST, GoI. The first project was for the development of Automotive Research Centre in the year 2003 with an outlay of Rs. 0.57 cr. The second project was for the establishment of Centre for Advanced Manufacturing Research in 2011 with a total outlay of Rs. 2.57 cr. The school takes up funded research projects under the broad areas of Welding, Surface Engineering, Alternative Fuels, Composite Materials, MEMS and IC Engines. The school is currently carrying out a total of 32 research projects of total outlay of 10.70 crores. The funding is being provided by various agencies like DST – SERB, AR&DB, ISRO, DAE–BRNS and DRDO-NRB.



The school has a very competitive and healthy publishing culture. The number of Scopus indexed publications of the faculty members of the school in the year 2017 is 315. The published journals include wear measurement, International Journal of Advanced Manufacturing Technology, Fuel, Renewable energy, Progress in Materials Science, Renewable and Sustainable Energy Reviews, Materials and Design, Enzyme and Microbial Technology, Ceramics International, Renewable and Sustainable Energy Reviews, Heat and Mass Transfer, Composite Structures and Corrosion Engineering and Technology.


 One of the areas of focus of the School is on New Product Development and the generation of intellectual wealth. The faculty members of the school had filed over 12 National parents over the last 5 years. The list of patents filed include Eco Board, Rotating radiator for improved heat transfer in motor vehicles, Special Anode for Aluminium – Air batteries, Anodic Coating for Aluminium – Air batteries and Mobile Vehicle Garage.

Approval of Erasmus + Funding to Establish a New Master Course in Applied Computational Dynamics



Number of Students


Number of Programmes offered


Events Conducted




SMEC has been growing from strength to strength every year, bringing laurels to VIT and is a major Resource Centre in South India.

The school enjoys active collaboration with many Industries, Research Institutions and International Universities. Some tangible outcomes of such collaborations are 

  • M. Tech Automotive Engineering Programme in collaboration with ARAI Pune
  • Semester Aboard Program to Universities including Cranfield University, UK., University of West, Sweden and Wenzhou University - China. 


  • Classrooms - 38
  • Seminar Halls- 1
  • Laboratories - 32



The school regularly organises various programs like

  • International/National Conferences
  • Seminars,Workshops and Symposia
  • Faculty Development programs
  • Value added programs for students and Professionals
  • Makathons and Designathons

The school also has vibrant Clubs Chapters of Professional Bodies such as ASME, SAE, ISHRAE & IEEE and they organise various competitions and workshops for students.

Event Calendar

No Events Available

CSWA Certification Program for

VIT Vellore, in association with SIM Technologies Pvt. Ltd,...


International Virtual Conferen

The conventional understanding of economic activity is based...



The event begins with an introductory session of E-Workshop...


One Day National Workshop on E

Owing to the introduction of Electricity Act 2003 in our...


One Day National Workshop on L

Life Cycle Thinking can be used by decision-makers in both...


Industry 4.0

Industry 4.0 is a term often used to refer to the...


National Workshop on Advanced

View All Events

Student Achievements

Expert Lecture on Moore’s Law and Opportunities in Semiconductor Fabrication

School of Mechanical Engineering (SMEC) conducted an Industry Expert Lecture on “Moore’s Law and Opportunities in Semiconductor Fabrication”. Dr. Seshu Sattiraju, Director, Thin films and Diffusion, Non- Volatile Memory Technology development, Intel Corporation, Portland, USA was the resource person.

Dr. Vasudevan R

Senior Professor & Dean

School of Mechanical Engineering

Fax: 0416-2243092, 2240411

Vellore Institute of Technology

Vellore-632 014